

## The Branches of Government

The Founding Fathers of the United States of American were afraid of rulers with too much power. After their experience with England, they wanted to limit the powers of any future ruler. To limit power, they wrote the constitution to give the government a separation of powers among three separate branches of government. The three branches of the federal government include the executive, legislative and judicial branches.

The executive branch of the federal government is made up of the President of the United States, and the members of his cabinet. It's their job to carry out the laws. The President can either sign or veto (dismiss) proposed laws (called bills).

The legislative branch proposes those bills. It's their job to make the laws. The legislative branch is made up of Congress. Congress has two separate groups (called Chambers). The two chambers are the Senate and the House of Representatives.

The judicial branch is made up of the Supreme Court of the United States and its lower courts. The judicial branch is responsible for interpreting laws, and for hearing the top federal cases. The Supreme Court is the highest court in the United States, and has power of all of the lower courts when deciding questions about the interpretation of Constitution of the United States.